26 April to 4 May 2019

Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) consists of 607 islands, of which 65 are inhabited, spread over an ocean area the size of Western Australia. The islands are in four main groups, which form the basis of FSM’s four states: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae. The capital, Palikir, is located on the island of Pohnpei. FSM has a population of 106,000. Australia established diplomatic relations with FSM in July 1987 and the Australian Embassy in Pohnpei was opened in November 1989. Australia enjoys a close and friendly relationship with FSM. Australia Awards delivered under the Australian aid program are an important component of the Australian government’s overseas aid program. Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships provide opportunities to study at selected education institutions in the Pacific region. Since 2007 there have been 146 Australia Awards provided to the FSM. Nine of these awards were offered in 2017.


Related Links